Digging Deep

I stumbled across a very interesting blog, this is the specific entry

I am going to answers all of these thought provoking questions as much as possible relating to my work and life as a photographer:

  1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?  As a photographer I feel very young, I would say around 25
  2. Which is worse, failing or never trying?  Never trying is by far worse, there is always something to be gained from failing
  3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?  Well modern life requires us to do many things we do not like there is just no avoiding many of these things.  I think it is human nature to romanticize that which we do not have
  4. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?  I’d like to think that the photographs I make both have something to say and are the end result of what I do.  Ultimately I hope that my photographs individually and collectively have much to say so I hope that I will have said more than I have done
  5. What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?  Realistically I would love for more people to live harmoniously, in a fantasy world I would love to have more control over lighting
  6. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?  I am hopeful that the path I am now as a photographer will lead to a richer life, that does not mean it should be measured in pure financial terms though
  7. Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?  I am working toward believing in myself and my photography 100%, so yes I am doing what I believe in
  8. If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?  I don’t care for this question
  9. To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?  I can’t say.  I know have made decisions both good and bad that have altered the course of my life many times but I also recognize that there are circumstances beyond my control
  10. Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?  It’s hard to say as I am a bit of a perfectionist (sometimes to my own detriment) but I also value integrity in all that I do
  11. You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire.  They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend.  The criticism is distasteful and unjustified.  What do you do?  I would try to logically debate those criticisms
  12. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?  Take chances
  13. Would you break the law to save a loved one?  Yes of course but I don’t like to deal in hypothetical
  14. Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?  Absolutely, without some sort of conflict – internally or externally – it is hard to see from new perspectives
  15. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?  Drive
  16. How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy?  There is no magic pill that can satisfy all
  17. What one thing have you not done that you really want to do?  What’s holding you back? I want to photograph many places, events end people.  I am holding myself back but I am working on changing that
  18. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?  Yes and in the context I have set here I would say fear of the unknown, fear of failure
  19. If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?  As a photographer I would be happy in almost any new place but if I could choose I would want it to be somewhere that is warm more often that it is cold
  20. Do you push the elevator button more than once?  Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster?  Usually I press it once and I know that it is not going to make a difference if I press it more than once but it does satisfy some irrational feeling to do so
  21. Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton?  Not that I would consider myself a genius but it would be nice to see what it is like to live in a less complicated world – to test the old axiom “ignorance is bliss”
  22. Why are you, you?  How could I be anyone else?
  23. Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?  I try to be but I’m sure that I have not always lived up to that
  24. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you?  When a good friend moves away because when you lose touch with a good friend that is nearby there is always the opportunity to change that
  25. What are you most grateful for?  My family and friends
  26. Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?  Memories shape our lives and photographs are so often triggers for memories, to lose old memories or prevent news ones either way it is a terrible loss
  27. Is is possible to know the truth without challenging it first?  I do believe that some things are instinctive or innate but it is always good to challenge and shake things up
  28. Has your greatest fear ever come true?  No, in terms of photography my greatest fear is being unable or unwilling to pick up a camera and that has never happened to me thankfully
  29. Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset?  Does it really matter now?  There are moments of anger or great emotion that always stick out, what is in the past will stay there but it is important to use these experiences to one’s advantage whenever possible
  30. What is your happiest childhood memory?  What makes it so special?  My happiest childhood memories mostly center around baseball – watching it or playing it
  31. At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?  When my daughter was born
  32. If not now, then when?  Exactly
  33. If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose?  Ultimately nothing but for me I have to feel that I am ready for the next step whatever it may be.  Perhaps this is a lie I have sold to myself…
  34. Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?  Yes
  35. Why do religions that support love cause so many wars?  I could go on forever with this one but I don’t see any real parallels to my photography so I will just say that religion is a poison to logic and reason
  36. Is it possible to know, without a doubt, what is good and what is evil?  I don’t think there are such absolutes as to what is good but the same cannot be said for evil
  37. If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job?  No I would probably go buy some new photo equipment 🙂
  38. Would you rather have less work to do, or more work you actually enjoy doing?  More work that I enjoy, what could be more satisfying
  39. Do you feel like you’ve lived this day a hundred times before?  I usually don’t feel that way because I feel or hope that I am continually evolving
  40. When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believed in?  I do that a lot with my camera
  41. If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?  Again I don’t like hypothetical but I guess I would want to see my family
  42. Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous?  No
  43. What is the difference between being alive and truly living?  It is hard to say, it is a feeling that is hard to put in to words
  44. When is it time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just go ahead and do what you know is right?  That moment always varies and it is almost impossible to predict but that moment is inevitable
  45. If we learn from our mistakes, why are we always so afraid to make a mistake?  Because mistakes hurt, because we often go against our better judgment.  For me I often get caught up in a feeling of losing an opportunity that can never be recovered – in photography missing a photo or a moment that will never come back
  46. What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?  I try to do what I think is right and try not to concern myself with the judgment of others, as a photographer this is different as I often desire positive feedback
  47. When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing?  Quite often as I tend to be a mouth breather and my nose will whistle sometimes as well, I don’t think I ever noticed this while photographing though
  48. What do you love?  Have any of your recent actions openly expressed this love?  In photography I love when I love my photographs (because sometimes it is hard to stop being self critical) and I definitely love the photographs of others
  49. In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday?  What about the day before that?  Or the day before that?  Probably not unless something significant happens
  50. Decisions are being made right now.  The question is:  Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?  I need to make more of these decisions for myself
2 thoughts on “Digging Deep

Leave a Reply

